Today, children spend a lot of time watching TV. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this practice? Give examples and reasons to support your idea.

In modern society, many parents allow their offspring to watch television for education or recreation. From my point of view, the drawbacks of this trend, especially addiction and decline in eyesight, eclipse its educational and entertaining benefits. Television undoubtedly has favourable features and positively influences children's growth, such as a form of relaxation and enhancing kids’ learning ability. Firstly tv programmes provide myriad channels for viewers to choose from, which allows them to relax. Moreover, news programs and documentaries can help juveniles better understand the world to obtain all-around development and enable them to become wise people. For instance, historical movies can inspire adolescents to learn from the past and enlighten their values. In contrast, I believe the disadvantages surpass the advantages as the offspring are easily addicted to television and health issues may defer their development. To begin with, an obsession with digital programs will become perilous to youngsters' social life, where they may sit on the screen for the whole day, as the more time spent on Tv, the less chance to interact with others. Furthermore, the long time screening would deteriorate their eyesight, and there is no cure for myopia, so individuals may need to wear glasses for the rest of life. To illustrate, a study revealed that the number of Hong Kong pupils who wear glasses rose from 50% to 88%. To conclude, there are significant positive impacts on young such as broadening their wisdom and enabling them to chill out. However, I believe that these merits pale in comparison to adverse effects, namely the deleterious visual acuity as well as the excessive reliance on the screen.