Many cities have areas where the only cars are taxies and buses. Is this a positive or a negative development? What are the effects of this on individuals and society ?

There have been restricted places in urban cities which are only allowed to use public transport such as cabs and buses. I believe that this phenomenon has brought both pros and cons to our lives individually and socially. Firstly, in terms of using public vehicles, individuals need to pay more fare rather than driving their own transport. Even though a short distance trip, especially cabs usually cost higher than other means of transportations. Therefore, the burden of expenses on travelling would be heavy on the public. Secondly, it seems to be inconvenient because people need to contact or wait to catch public transport at every time, although they have their own vehicles. Moreover, it might be insufficient to have vehicle restrictions on roads in order to need to be maintained such as roads, traffic lights and public transport by spending taxies. This could lead to imposing more taxation on individuals. On the other hand, there comes a point, the limitation of access to private cars could reduce the amount of using fuel as well as the emission of carbon dioxide because of less chance of driving own car. As a result, this system gives beneficial effects on the environment individually and socially. Furthermore, having public transport could produce more employment. For instance, drivers, mechanics and cleaners for improving customer services, hence this would be able to contribute to economic growth. In conclusion, as far as the use of public transportation in metropolitan cities is concerned, I think that there might happen a heavier tax on individuals as the government expenditure would become higher on roads. However, it would provide advantages for the environment and economic development.