Nowadays international tourism is the biggest industry worldwide. Unfortunately, sometimes it creates tension between people from different cultures, instead of better understanding. Why do you think it is happening and how can be improved?

The effects of international tourism have been a topic of heated debate in recent years. Given that it may cause a higher level of tension among people from different countries, identifying the reasons behind it is key to finding solutions. There is a number of reasons why international tourism potentially creates tension among societies. First, since cultural diversity may lead to misunderstanding, tourists and local residents are susceptible to unexpected conflicts. For example, most Western tourists are not able to understand the recyclable system in many European countries and may put rubbish into inappropriate bins, causing local residents discomfort. Second, although tourism can offer broad-based benefits, it poses a serious threat to natural habitats. In fact, the environmental pollution due to litter thrown by tourists would not only cause health problems but also cost a great deal of money and effort to restore the polluted areas. Nevertheless, there are many actionable solutions to improve this situation. If travellers take the time to learn about the culture of their destinations, they will behave appropriately and perceive less strain. In fact, understanding traditions and customs would allow them to emerge and enjoy themselves to the fullest. In addition, governments should enforce stricter laws and better regulations on tourism. For example, putting a limitation on the number of tourists in a particular area would ensure better environmental management practices and more positive attitudes from local people. To summarize, cultural diversity and lack of environmental awareness can create tension between people from different countries. However, learning about international traditions and better tourism regulations play important roles in ensuring a better understanding among them.