In some countries around the world men andwomen are having children later in life.Whatare the reasons for this development? What arethe effects on society and family life?

Nowadays, more and more people choose to have offspring at an older age. I will discuss, in my opinion, some causes of this phenomenon and explain several possible effects on society and families. I believe there are several reasons for this. Firstly, it is due to one’s academic career. As academic resources increased and improved, people received more education than before. For example, at the age of 22, people might already be married and have a two-year-old child, but now individuals have probably just finished college, and many are studying for a master's degree. In addition, individuals now tend to make decisions more cautiously. Many people will consider problems such as the condition of their work or whether they will be able to provide for their children ’s needs. Lastly, individuals ’ values develop as time passes. 20 years ago, people might have considered having offspring a necessity; now, they might believe it is more important to have a successful career and a happy marriage than having children. In my perspective, this development will have mostly positive effects on society and families. As people reach an older age, their lives and careers are probably stable. This means if many individuals are having children around the thirties, most of the young can be well educated because fewer parents are going to lose their jobs. Thus, there will be more useful citizens. Moreover, if people are having children at an older age, it probably means they thought before making this decision. For some young parents, their children could even be an accident. With no idea or will to take care of the young, many of these children will probably become hooligans and delinquents. Last but not least, this tends to lead to a happier and healthier family. As parents mature and children are well educated and cared for, fewer conflicts will happen. For instance, a child with a good education knows what is right and what is wrong, and as parents are more mature and know the importance of communication, they can find ways to peacefully solve an argument. In conclusion, possible reasons that cause people to have children at older ages are probably due to their academic reasons, more consideration, and different values. The phenomenon is probably going to bring mostly good things, with better individuals who receive needed education, fewer delinquents in communities, and more harmonious families.