In modern society ambition is getting more and more important. How important is ambition for people to be successful in life? Is ambition a positive or negative characteristic?

There are contrasting opinions on whether ambition is a beneficial quality for people to succeed. While acknowledging that being ambitious might have some potential drawbacks, I would argue that it plays a significant, positive role in motivating people to strive to accomplish their dreams. Undoubtedly, an ambitious and aggressive mindset can make an enormous difference in people's thinking and behaviours. As the old saying goes, soldiers who do not aspire to become generals are not good soldiers. Ambition breeds strong determination and unwavering perseverance. The prime advantage of ambition is that ambitious people are more likely to achieve their full potential as they are usually strongly motivated. Numerous studies show that successful people tend to have well-defined and higher objectives for their careers, on the contrary, under-achievers often settle for mediocrity and fail to make the best use of their abilities To sum up, however, there are also risks with being overly ambitious Setting unrealistic goals can result in a stressful lifestyle. This could be highlighted by today's highly competitive job market, where people are encouraged to aim high even at the expense of their health and family life Furthermore, unbridled ambition can cause massive damage to our society, as ambitious people without the constraint of morality are prone to take fatal risks to meet their objectives. For example, the infamous unscrupulous tradesman bankrupted the Bank of Scotland through his illegal trading practice in the hedge fund market in the pursuit of massive profits.