People today are more concerned with owning material possessions than with developing friendships and family relationships. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In recent time, an individual has a tendency to focus more on material possessions compared to their social relationship with others. I agree with the given statement and this essay will try to provide several explanations.  In the prior time, people differentiated the time between work and leisure activities. They tended to work in the morning and spent the evening with friends and families. This view was shifted throughout the years. People nowadays spend countless hours in the office. One of the possible explanations is due to the expectation from each individual to get a rise, higher positions, and many more. However, the result of this lifestyle actually is impacting our possessions. For example, we often value someone based on their money's worth. The downside of focusing too much to material possessions is that individuals often sacrifice their relationships with others. For example, if someone stayed in the office from 9 am to 9 pm, they do not really have time to socialize. Hence, they only connect with their colleagues. Furthermore, in the current society, it is not rare to see a child that does not recognize her/ his parents due to the limited time they spend together. In conclusion, this essay agrees that individuals nowadays are focusing too much on goods while sacrificing any other aspects of their life.