Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Adolescents mostly lack experience and sometimes are curious about illegal problems or behaviours to prove or satisfy themself. However, they have not had enough awareness so the majority often argue that the most suitable people to talk to offspring about the dangers of committing a crime are the ones who have been in prison and then become good citizens later. In my opinion, I totally agree with this way of thinking. Indeed, ex-offender often is the one who has seen through the downside - look at illegal behaviours or the weight of sentences so that is the reason why they could carry out the advice and warning to the youth. For instance, hearing true stories in prison about treatments and other sentences they have to face such as corporal punishment or capital punishment, etc… could help children realize that embarking on crime is a fully thoughtless action. The reality of life and the shocking nature of these stories is obvious to make a powerful impact. Another reason to prove this opinion is other people are not the most suitable for this position. Firstly, police officers who are strictly warning and educating, sometimes compel children to do the right thing without explanations. Next, parents’ advice is untruthful and unconvincing because of the lack of information they have. Teachers are also the ones who could persuade children, however it is hard to give real experience and take control of most students’ activities in part of their own life. Youngsters should take responsibility for their life and give decisions so the most impact on their way of thought is real people as well as ex-prisoner. In conclusion, it is unquestionable when it comes to the decision that ex-offender that have made a fresh start can be a speaker in order to improve and educate adolescents' behaviours.