Some people think that the best way to solve the problem of poverty in many countries is to set up businesses and improve trade links with rich countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Poverty has become a problem that impacts most developing countries. Some argue that the best way to solve this problem is by creating businesses with developed countries. Although it is true that new businesses can give a positive impact on the economic level of one's country, I do believe there are other solutions that we can do in order to reduce poverty. Increasing trade, such as import and export, along with setting up businesses between countries indeed would decrease the unemployment number, which means that more people will be receiving salaries in the future and eventually decrease the poverty level of the country. For example, a company that was established in Papua between Indonesia and the USA provides a job for almost 20% of the population. However, economics is not always the main cause of poverty, other aspects such as health and education also play an important contribution to poverty solutions. I believe that by providing free basic education (i.e., from elementary to high school) and holistic health services, people would be less likely to fall into a needy condition. For example, Germany provides free education for all of their students, and by doing that, the percentage of unemployment is decreased to less than 25%. In order to do that, the government needs to understand that education and physical condition also can help to decline the neediness. To conclude, even though the level of poverty can be decreased by creating businesses in rich countries, it is not the best solution available. Other aspects such as health and education need to obtain the same amount of attention from the government in eradicating poverty.