In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this massage?

Nowadays, many people believe this proverb that there is no pain no gain and in some cultures, children usually hear that they can attain whatever they want by trying hard. This message may have significant impacts on kids’ personalities and their lives in the future. In fact, it could have two main benefits and also appear to have some drawbacks. The advantage of saying children that they can obtain all their goals if they attempt enough could increase their confidence. So, kids would believe they are powerful and could gain their aims and wishes. Therefore, they will do their best to succeed. For example, students with average scores with this opinion could be top students of hard work because they believe their endeavour will be consequent. Furthermore, youngsters will understand that every valuable thing will not get easy without labour because it has a long process. For instance, Olympic champions reach the gold medal by continuous efforts and participating in competitions for several years. On the other hand, a leading drawback of this cultural idea could be that youth will not understand the meaning of failure therefore, they will be disappointed with every defeat and lose their confidence. So, they will think they are not deserved to obtain their ambitions. Whereas children should know that they need failures to learn how to become successful. Moreover, some unpredictable events can prevent us from get our purpose. In other words, failures sometimes happen because of bad luck, which does not mean we did not do our best. Indeed, teenagers should learn that trying hard does not always succeed. For example, a genius student that has studied hard for exams may not take exams and be absent because of sickness. In conclusion, although prosperity occurs by making efforts and this idea could have positive effects on children’s lives such as raising their self-confidence and teaching them that gaining precious things is possible just by investigating, but could cause kids to despair after every simple failure and give up their goals. Consequently, we should teach them that breakdowns could help them achieve hits.