In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

When buying a new house or a flat in a building, one of the initial question that comes up is: who had lived in that place. Even if you forgot asking any such questions in the begining, when planning to sell the property people frequently ask about previous history of the house and all the residents ever lived in it. This could be because of the curiosity. Whether a prominent person had ever shared the place or it could be a anxiousness driven by fear; if any mishappening had occured at the place. When purchasing or selling a house, history of all previous owners is of profound interest. Feeling like curiosity or fear drive such a question. For instance, whether a crime had ever happened at the house or in the building, or any illegal activity was performed the the residence. Also curiosity to know if a famous person had lived in that place. Such questions will impact the sale of the property and it can go either ways, based on the history of type of people lived there. To gain knowledge on such a topic, a realtor is the first best person to ask before buying the place. And later, neighbours are the one who could help you out discoverying the facts and the history of the house. If you are still not satisfied, you can approach the government body dealing in the housing management. They have all the records of all the previous owners. Or if you are living in a building, there must be a management company. Ask them any reasonable question regarding the past of that building. In conclusion, I would say feelings like fear and curiousity leads to questions on the history of the house. A realtor, neighbours and management companies can assist in attaining such a information.