Some people say that young people should follow the traditions of their society and some say they should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Tradition conservation has been a topic of heated debate over the past few decades. Although the idea of young people following their traditions appears necessary, they should be encouraged to behave in accordance with their individual temperaments. There is a number of reasons why the young should conserve the traditions of their society. First, customs are what make a country different and special from one another. This means that if teenagers don't make an effort to keep their society's traditions going, there will be no difference and diversity among nations around the world. Second, many traditional holidays help the young enhance their gratitude, which is one of the most important attitudes almost everywhere. For instance, in Vietnam, there are a few special days in a year when most businesses are closed and people celebrate small parties to commemorate war heroes who protected and built up the country. Nevertheless, youngsters should be free from their society's customs to act as individuals for some reason. Everyone is born different, and therefore, unique to a certain degree. In fact, if the traditional activities don't align with a teenager's temperamental propensity, it will be harmful to his or her mental well-being to follow them. In addition, not all traditional practices are reasonable and useful to conserve. For example, while some superstitiously believe that killing cows and presenting them to the Gods may bring no extreme weather and improve their crops, these appear non-scientific and should be abandoned in order to propel them to adopt new farming practices and technological advancements. To summarize, both views are plausible to a certain extent. In my opinion, young people should set themselves free from old and traditional practices that are no longer useful in order to adopt new ones that can help them and their community develop.