You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. In some countries, online shopping is replacing shopping in stores. Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, many countries around the world are experiencing an increase in online shopping, a tendency that is replacing shopping in stores. In my opinion, despite the negative effects that this may cause, I am certain that this trend is very convenient and beneficial for societies. To begin with, shopping online has become incredibly popular among people, who enjoy shopping from the comfort of their homes or any place in a very simple way, using any technological device and without wasting time. For instance, websites like E-Bay and Amazon are very reliable and offer a refund and return options in case of excessive delays or major problems, which invites customers to shop more relaxed. This is not only contributing to a more practical lifestyle for individuals but also increasing the income of the companies involved, as they are able to sell in-store and online, reaching a wider range of clients and places. On the other hand, there are some difficulties related to this modern tendency. For example, many physical stores are being closed as there are not being visited by many clients, which implicates massive staff firing. Of course, this is a very negative effect on people and the economy. However, there are numerous ways of reinserting these ex-employees in other positions such as warehouse assistant, as the increment of the shipping is demanding more personnel to prepare the deliveries. To conclude, we cannot deny that online shopping is replacing shopping in stores and this may bring some adversities like stores shutting down and losing jobs. However, this can be prevented, as more positions are being created because of the demand of online shopping, which implies only swapping job positions instead of firing personnel. In contrast, I consider that the benefits of shopping online are enormous and outweigh their negative effects as contribute to the increase of the economy and simplify customers' lives, being able to buy from their homes without wasting time visiting the stores physically.