In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In contemporary times, health problems caused by junk food are a controversial issue. For this reason, I mainly disagree with the idea that governments should impose a high tax on this kind of food. To begin with, it is certain that high taxes discourage people from buying fast food. For instance, cigarettes and alcohol are successful for that purpose with high taxes. Not only do they not let consumers purchase them, but they also contribute to the government's financial resources. Consequently, high taxes generate money for the citizen's health insurance policy. Furthermore, greasy and salty food is unhealthy, as are tobacco and alcohol. In the case of junk food, it leads to obesity or diabetes due to its high calorie and fat content.   Having said that, the high tax on junk food has a negative impact on people who do not have enough salary. Basically, the advantage of junk food is reasonable for those who cannot afford to buy healthy food because it is also true that fresh food, such as organic vegetables, is costly. Although vegetables contain high nutrition, they are not enough to fill a stomach. However, fast food makes us feel satisfied easily because of its cost and high calories.   In conclusion, although imposing a high tax on fast food solves health and financial issues, there are those in need due to poverty, and those people have to resort to cheap junk food. Given those reasons, I believe that increasing the tax on fast food has a negative effect.