Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Research has shown that many young adults like to meet each other on the internet than to meet face-to-face. I believe this can be attributed to many reasons particularly, how fast and advanced technology is these days. To stir teens up for them to have interest in meeting people physically, many actions can be put in place Firstly, teens can be educated in schools on the importance of meeting with people in person and the benefits it offers such as effective communication, companionship, empathy and many more. Having physical interactions helps messages to be understood better in comparison to online chatting which some clarity of the information might be lost. For instance, facial expressions during communication play a significant role in comprehensiveness. Support can be offered if one communicator has a breakdown. Another way to help motivate young adults to meet in person is to create an awareness of the negative side meeting people online could have. Despite the fun online socialization, it can be detrimental as well. Parents can inform their kids about the dangers involved, which will discourage them from fraternizing with strangers who might fraud or cyberbully them. Once children become aware, they will choose to mingle in person all day. Finally, guardians can act as role models since children like to pick what their elders do, if they observe their parents, mentors and tutor engaging in social meetings, they are likely to follow suit. For example, they can visit their friends occasionally at their homes or restaurants and even take the kids along too. To sum up, these implementations will encourage children to value in-person meetups