In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that over the last few decades, people all over the globe started wearing Western clothing. In this essay, I'll discuss the reasons why this is happening and provide evidence as to why this is a negative trend. One of the many reasons is the globalisation that the world has been going through for years now and in one way or another, this has affected the way individuals dress. Moreover, the cinema and Hollywood blockbusters are heavily involved in this change, when fans from every corner of the world are watching the same movie and they see how the actors are dressed and how good they look, naturally, they tend to imitate them, as a result, a lot of them will end up buying the same clothes, for instance, in many shopping centres, it has been reported that there was an increase in the sales of suits after the release of the tv show Mad Men. This is definitely a bad tendency and the consequences might be negative on the cultural heritage of other countries as a whole, if citizens wear only foreign clothes instead of traditional ones, then the traditions and values of this particular nation might get compromised. Furthermore, due to this trend, the new generations ahead can never witness their own old set of clothing; therefore, the country would be in a situation where its citizens don't know about their past which can be detrimental to the fabric of society. To conclude, As I have discussed, there are several causes why this trend is happening and it is indeed a negative development.