In the past, sporting champions used to be motivated primarily by the desire to win a match or to break world records. These days, they are more likely to be motivated by prize money and the opportunity to be famous. What message does this send to young people and how does this attitude to sport affect the sports themselves? Give reasons for your answer.

For some children being an athlete superstar is a dream because famous players were models of success; however, these days some of those models are seeking payment rather than achievements. This essay will discuss what are some of the messages those young adults are receiving due to this change of interest, and what some of the negative impacts such behaviour has led to. To begin with, although youngsters were taught to develop their skills and do not care about raising money, now they observe the contradiction of this concept. They are being motivated toward the highest-paid sports professions, and they are dropping their true skills doing that. For example, Basketball and American football are decreasing in popularity compared to Soccer because world-known soccer players are becoming famous for having supercars, mansions, yachts and many other luxurious benefits they enjoy by playing soccer. For this reason, children not only have grown more to care about financial benefits but also dropped their true skills. Moreover, Sport, these days, is becoming an investment rather than entertainment. Indeed, companies are using match shows to advertise their products and take advantage of the fact that millions of people are watching the matches. In addition, associations are forcing some rules that aim to increase financial profits. For instance, Fifa prevents players from taking off their T-shirts after they have scored a goal because sponsoring companies of that player's team take advantage of this scene to advertise their trademark. This also has negatively impacted the team spirit of games. To conclude, sports professionals once stood for morals and ethics. These days, sadly, some of them are only looking after fame and fancy life uncaring about the negative messages their cheerers are getting especially young ones. Moreover, their behaviours are affecting the whole enjoyment of games.