In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have a myriad of views on whether we should use large amounts of money on the cross-border railways’ construction to build up the linkage to different cities. Although some people may think that it can help to enhance economic development, due to the huge cost and long period of construction, I still believe that we are better to allocate the resources to the urgent matter in the local transport system, which improves the existing public transport facilities. Of the reasons why we should construct a new railway system, probably the most significant reason is that it can extend the development to the new areas, which aids in relocating the resources and population. Hence, nearby areas can collaborate together to bring about a synergy effect for economic and cultural activities. For instance, the High-speed Rail in Hong Kong has shortened travel time to Mainland China, which just needed around 30 minutes to reach Guangzhou. It is efficient for people to work or travel to the Greater Bay Area, which is named the “One-hour living circle”. Therefore, Hong Kong and other nearby areas are more connected through convenient transit and mutual cooperation is easier to be established. Despite the above arguments, I still believe that local transportation improvement is more important than the cross-border train. Since those trains are built in the long term and required lots of resources for supporting the construction, it may reduce the resources which are spent in maintaining of local commune system. MTR, which is the local metro in Hong Kong, is the prime example. There have been rapid service disruptions have happened in recent years, including the High-Speed Rail’s service being suspended for several hours, and thus massive chaos was caused. Imagine If the tourists who travel to Hong Kong experience such chaos, it will demolish their impressions of the city and turn to a loss of tourism eventually. With this in mind, stable-in-the-art transportation is vital for the operations of a city, the failure of local commune service will diminish its economic growth. Under this line of thinking, although there are valid reasons for building the new train across to the nearby cities, I personally believe that enhancing the local subway, especially lower the rate of service disruptions, is more significant to the growth of the economy in a city.