What are the advantages and disadvantages of leaving your country to live or study abroad?

Nowadays, it is common for people to depart from their own country and to live or study in another. Some might say it is inspiring, the others might say it is challenging. This essay will discuss both the advantages and the disadvantages of this particular decision. To begin with, one of the greatest advantages for most travellers is homesickness. Being unable to see their family and close friends in person may intensify a sense of loneliness, and sometimes sadness. In addition, there are some changes in their lifestyle that can be expected while they are in foreign lands. For example, many backpackers in Australia need to adopt bulk buying of groceries, as the public transport and business hour of shops are not as convenient as in their own countries. In contrast, living or studying abroad can be inspirational. Being alone in a foreign land pushes people out of their comfort zone to meet friends for companionship. For instance, international students in Australia support each other through online platforms, and sometimes organise gatherings to meet and to share food together. On the other hand, travellers learn to adapt and to experience daily life in a new cultural perspective, therefore, it helps them to make more educated decisions in the future. In conclusion, disadvantages such as feeling lonely due to missing family and friends and lifestyle changes can appeal to in abroad experience. However, there are advantages like gaining new friends and perspective that would bring positive influences in one's future. Although the experience can vary for each person, the advantages of living or studying abroad outweighed the disadvantages, thus it is recommended.