International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

Travel is an experiment that enlightens people's minds. While some people believe that tourism brings many advantages to their countries, others think this activity brings more downsides. In this essay, I will discuss why hosting people from other nations can be beneficial to the local public. To start with, those who think that tourism imposes negative outcomes on a country, argue that these outlanders cause an increase in the cost of living. They think tourists elevate demands for both food and housing. In addition to that reason, when visiting them, some travellers ruin attractions. They may do that by throwing garbage in public places. Venice, for example, is suffering from polluted city water due to the fact that outlanders are throwing their waste in the rivers. For those reasons, some might believe that tourism is unnecessary economic and environmental damage. On the other hand, others say that, although foreigners may cause inflations, they move the wheel of the economy if regulated correctly by the governments. When they travel and spend money on shopping, booking a hotel and using transportation, they increase the income of the visited community. Moreover, knowledge and experience are brought to the locals. The most educated people are those who travel the most and invite others to visit them. For instance, the people of Istanbul have increased awareness after they opened their borders to receive visitors. As a result, I believe that tourism brings advantages more than disadvantages. To conclude, in my opinion, though foreigners may bring some negative impacts when they visit a country, such as market inflation and damage to venues, they also have positives in their bags. Not only would this increase locals' total income, but this would also reinforce knowledge to share with them. Which I believe outweighs the disadvantages.