Some people feel that students should not have to take standardized tests in school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Standardized tests have been a topic which has many arguments nowadays. Some people believe standardized tests offer an objective measurement in education; otherwise, others insist these tests have put unnecessary pressure on students. From my perspective, I am not convinced that students should not have to take examinations in school. Some people give an opinion that standardized tests have no meaningful measure of progress in education. Because of educational scores are easily influenced by many factors: stress, teachers, sources of documents and the pressure come from parents. The results will only show students who is best for preparing and taking tests without the deep understanding of knowledge. As a result, teachers in school may end up “teaching to the test” rather than giving students consideration for knowledge. Moreover, the standardized tests will only show the ability in certain fields so the school cannot assess the talents of each student at their true worth, as well as increase stress and financial problem for students, teachers and parents. On the other hand, the examinations also have benefits to students and schools. It can acquire a stable education system for the country by create the objective metric to gauge areas for enhancement. When students take the tests, the scores will evaluate the effectiveness of the education program of a country which can easily have more recommendations for a better study environment at schools. Additionally, standardized tests scores are a good indicator of university and job success. In short, students who have an impressive level of academic achievement seems to be successful after high school graduation. In conclusion, while standardized tests have some disadvantages, it should be the sole measurement of student’s performances due to its effectiveness and facility. Besides, it is important to reduce examinations for the sake of better development of students as well as teachers and parents are less stressed.