People will buy a product if it has quality or fulfill their needs. There is no need for advertisement and considered as a form of entertainment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with it?

It is believed that people purchase products depending on their quality or if it satisfies their needs. Thus, some people say that advertisement is not anymore needed and it is just a way of entertainment. In my opinion, people will always buy according to what they need and want. Nowadays, it is being debated if advertising still helps consumers to decide on the things to buy. One of the main criteria when people purchase things is based on their needs. According to Maslow's Hierarchy of needs, physiologic needs, are the basic needs of a person that should be met before they could progress to the second tier. For instance, a person will always purchase food regardless of whether he is from a low-income or a high-income background because a person could not live without food or water. Everyone will surely agree that people will prioritize things that could help them survive in this chaotic world. Another criterion is the quality of the product. No one wants to buy a product that could only be used twice or three times. Customers will surely think of purchasing products that could be for long-term use. In the Philippines, for example, people are now awakened when buying things. They don't anymore mind the price as long as it has the best quality. Thus, could let them save more in the long run. Hence, I think advertisements are not much of a help to people when buying. They are just merely for entertainment. They could still be useful to introduce a new product. Not all people would frequently go to supermarkets to check for new products, especially the elderly. With the help of advertisements, they could easily learn about newly launched things thru television or newspapers. To recapitulate, advertising is already outdated to help consumers decide on what products to purchase. People are now aware and are prioritizing things that should be purchased due to the hardship of life. But, advertising could still help in promoting new products to the buyers.