Some people move to other countries when they retire. Others think that it is better to retire in their home country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples.

Immigrating to other countries is not a new concept. It has been happening since time immemorial. Some people move to another nation after retirement while some prefer to stay in their very own nation. I am of the opinion that shifting to another country at such an old age is never a good idea. However, both these views are discussed below. Even though I disagree with retired individuals moving to another country, I understand their choice. Some folk have massive wanderlust. They want to see the world and experience new cultures. While there are others who move to another country to be with their children who work abroad. For example, my uncle shifted from India to Canada to be with his son who has a successful business in Edmonton. There may be a few reasons why individuals make such a defining choice. However, I still am of the opinion that it is risky to take such a massive step at that age. The aged are usually not a very adaptable crowd. Moving to a new land requires a lot of flexibility. For instance, my grandfather shifted to Australia from India.He faced numerous problems as he was unaware of the customs of the Australians. He failed to understand the garbage collection system and was regularly imposed with fines.He eventually came back home to India as he could not adapt to the changes. Furthermore, shifting to be with one's family is also counter-productive. These older people move to a new republic to be with their children but they fail to realise that they add to the responsibilities on their child's shoulders. For example, my uncle moved to Canada to be with his son but he couldn't be independent as he did not know the local language. Every time his son used to accompany him to do the most basic chores. This took up a lot of my cousin's time and his professional life started to suffer. Thus, a parent should stay put to avoid such unpleasant circumstances. In conclusion, it is true that there is no place like home. Older people should continue to live in their own homes and enjoy the various amenities there.