Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts, and that this money could be spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with that statement?

In contemporary times, there are individuals who argue that governments inefficiently spend funds on the arts, proposing that those resources could be better utilised in alternative areas. Although investing in supporting other services makes sense, I partially disagree with this opinion because I believe art is essential to our lives. Firstly, it is certainly true that governments ought to use a large part of their budget for not only arts but also public services that could improve our societies. For instance, it could be a positive outcome that spending money on hospitals or schools. If governments do not spend enough money on hospitals, it is possible that the health of society will decline. Similarly, if enough money is not invested in school, students may not be properly educated. Having said that, the arts should not be completely neglected. To begin, it is difficult for many arts institutions to generate much profit, without some financial support from governments, many theatres or such places may have to close. Moreover, the arts also have important impact on our quality of life. Many people get pleasure from going to see music or theatre performances, so it is crucial that politics assist such institutions so that they can continue to provide entertainment to the public. To sum up, there are clear benefits of investment going into other policies, as this influences the quality of life for nearly all of us. That said, I consider spending money on the arts not to be a waste of money, as this too provides important benefits.