Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

History tells us what has happened before our time. One of the things that give us a great understanding of how local communities lived are historic buildings and as such we should try to preserve our heritage at all costs. I believe that replacing such artefacts can be detrimental to societies. The destruction of historic buildings can cause a major loss of history. The construction of a building gives an insight into the daily lives and activities that took place there. For instance, the Colosseum in Rome tells us that it was a site where battles took place between champions as well as the bathhouses, in the city of Bath, showing how the British folk took to bathing. Destroying these establishments would erase such knowledge, Additionally, maybe even the identity of a community.  These days the modern look is in. People no longer want an outdated style this extends to architecture as a result sites that hold historic value are in danger. Controversially I however think that the modernisation of buildings lacks character and wipes away the storytelling these older buildings give as a solution the buildings just need to install modern amenities. For example, air conditioning allows visitors to cool down and explore structures. Charging ports allows the public to power up the devices for memorable Pictures. These slight changes allow more foot traffic. To sum up, in my opinion, I do not agree that places that have historic meaning should be replaced just up-kept so that people could still visit to appreciate and gain wisdom.