Some people think that in order to protect the environment, we should reduce air travel. Do you agree or disagree?

Travelling by aeroplane has become so modern that there are millions of flights daily. Views have been divided between the reduction of air travel to protect the environment and to keep the rate of flights going. I agree with the first party and this essay will provide my reasonings. Planes result in pollution which in turn harms the ozone layer. Because of this harmful rays can enter the atmosphere and expose the environment to radiation that it was once protected against resulting in possible health damage. For example, UV rays increase the chance of skin cancer. The destruction of the ozone layer magnifies the risk of such illness to humans and wildlife. The fumes from the exhaust of aeroplanes pollute the clean air as a result dirty air can build up and create smog. Bulit-up smog can therefore become so thick that it blocks sunlight and stop it from reaching plants which causes them to wilt and die. In addition, health can also be affected, for instance, the public could become sick and have long-term breathing problems as well as heart disease. Another issue with smog is that when it rains droplets become contaminated. Buildings would be harmed as acidic rainwater erodes walls. Agriculture is also in danger as it could cause crops to not grow or cause it to be unsafe to consume. To conclude, I agree to travel by plane should be reduced as much as possible to preserve the environment and public health. As the number of flights, these days causes more harm than we realise.