People, in some countries, prefer to have a fast and extensive rail transportation system while others think that improving the existing road transportation system is far more important and that is why more budget should be spent on roads. This essay discusses both views. Personally, I am in favour of developing and enhancing both.

In this contemporary epoch, the government is spending a large amount of funds to enhance the transportation sector. Different people have different opinions about transport expenditure. A number of them believe that authorities should facilitate high-speed railway system such as bullet trains while others suggest making the current roads more convenient and better. From my perspective, both are equally important and should be developed to enhance the commuters' experience. Firstly, with the advancement of technology, the railway system is developing high-speed trains with a vast network. Undoubtedly, this not only makes the country strong economically but it is the travellers who are benefited the most from the world-class travelling experience. For instance, a recent survey conducted by the Land and Transport Authority states that around 35% of the population uses trains for their journeys. Henceforth, it is pertinent to mention that, the better commuter experience certainly, will increase the economy of the train system. Moreover, railways are the cheapest mode of transportation, hence the authorities should spend money on its development as more and more people use this mode of transport. Secondly, on the other hand, people who are in support to enhance the current road transportation believes that there are still many rural areas which are underdeveloped, and require better connectivity to urban areas. Infact, the existing roads are in bad condition due to the poor maintenance system. Rural inhabitants travel on a daily basis via roads in order to do business in cities, however due to the poor road connectivity, a quite number of people face difficulties to achieve this. This is why, it should be considered to improve the road infrastructure. To recapitulate, railways are the heart of the transportation system and its enhancement is surely advantageous for the country as well as the commuters. However, the road infrastructure should be properly maintained and improved as this connectivity is wider and even the rural population gets benefits from it.