Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries?

A lot of people from poor nations do not have enough money to pay for the medicine that can cure their diseases. While some may argue that pharmaceutical companies should offer discounts to these poor people so that they can access treatment, I do not believe this can remedy the situation because these drug companies should run their business instead of sharing the responsibility to ensure drug accessibility to everyone. In addition, people will still have the financial burden often due to prolonged treatment courses.Reduced price level generates lower revenue, which can push down the research and development spending by the pharmaceutical companies, resulting in fewer drugs reaching the market and eventually exacerbating drug scarcity. In other words, offering a lower drug cost to residents of less affluent countries will not reduce their death rate from curable diseases because it is not the business of pharmaceutical companies to ensure people can obtain their medicine, but Instead, they should always prioritise earning money by selling their products, so that they can invest in further research and develop more effective drug products. For example, Pfizer has a lot of HIV drugs that can save people's lives, but the company do not reduce their product prices for the Cambodians, as they need to maintain their business revenue. In addition, reducing drug prices can never be a viable measure to curb poor people ’s death from curable diseases because the scenario includes, but is not limited to, inadequate local healthcare infrastructures that break the supply chain hampering the delivery of medicines on time to millions of people. Also, there are many chronic diseases that require the use of life-long medicine, and drug discounts cannot offset the burden due to long treatment costs. For example, a slight decrease in the drug price for many inflammatory diseases, such as rheumatic arthritis, does not bring a huge impact to the overall drug costs for the patient that will rely on the medicine indefinitely. To conclude, I do not believe pharmaceutical companies should offer their products to poor people at lower costs because it will lower their revenue and spending on research, which will impact their overall production. Furthermore, drug price cuts cannot reduce the mortality rate significantly as patients may still need to pay a lot due to long treatment durations for some perennial diseases.