Prisons are an expensive way of making bad people worse’ To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that imprisoning individuals is a significant financial burden on society while these people become even worse. I completely agree with this statement because abundant tax incomes have to be used to settle these outlaws down and people tend to get negative impacts from bad surroundings. One of the primary concerns with imprisoning illegal persons is the financial burden it places on society. Authorities need to provide necessary services to prisoners, including staff, infrastructure and security. However, the social and economic benefits of imprisonment are often unclear. Although these criminals could do some basic work like sewing or making clothes in return, the profit they can make is quite limited and cannot be compared with the government’s input costs. For example, there are some prisoners even claimed that they were willing to be caught by the police due to small crimes because they could obtain free beds and food there without making any contribution to society. Another concern with imprisonment is the potential negative impact on prisoners’ behaviour. People are social animals, which means they are prone to be affected by their surroundings. Even if an individual is accused of theft, he may become more violent after staying in prison due to his peers’ effects. For instance, in 2022, there was a vicious event that an ex-convict committed a killing crime just after he had been released, and the government was interrogated by the public because similar events happened every year and it seems that there is only a small group of people can be renewed. In conclusion, prisoning illegal persons is a big waste of money since nations have to pay for their standard living costs without a worthy economic return while gathering this kind of people together would make things worse because they are easily affected by their bad mates which may lead to a repeat criminal act.