In some areas of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

America has implemented a limitation on the hours that adolescents are allowed to stay outside without an older individual’s company. Personally, I firmly agree with this practice for two main reasons. To begin with, teenagers need to stay at home after school owing to the fact that they have homework to do, exams to study and get enough rest for the following day since most of them attend school early in the day. On the weekends, minors hang out with their friends or families and enjoy a variety of activities before nighttime. Generally, it is not common to see young people outside after school hours during the week because most of them are occupied with their studies. Furthermore, the possibility of a crime happening by night is greater than happening during the day. This has been evidenced by numerous studies, the latest of which is published by the University of Toronto concluding that the rate of offences at night is significantly higher than the ones happening during daytime. Minors are still in the process of learning about life and its dangers and they would not know how to act to protect themselves in the face of a danger. Therefore, under no circumstances they should be allowed to walk around the streets late at night without their parents or older family members around joining them. In conclusion, I agree with the fact that adolescents should not be allowed to stay out late after certain hours as it would negatively impact their studies and impose a great risk to their lives.