Some people think that it’s a good idea to socialise with work colleagues during evenings and weekends. Other people think it’s important to keep working life completely separate from social life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are contradictory ideas about whether people should contact workmates frequently after work. While this has several benefits, I do think it is better to keep work and life separate. On the one hand, connecting with workmates has some perks. First, this enables people to have more time to discuss tasks that have not been finished during the day, and this may make meeting business targets easier. Second, colleagues often do not have chances to talk with each other about their personal lives while they are on duty, and meeting outside job, therefore, helps them understand each other’s situation, and can help out when needed. Finally, informal socialization can tighten emotions, reduce conflict at work, and consolidate teamwork. For example, many companies have held teambuilding campaigns for workmates to build their relationships. On the other hand, there are reasons why creating a work-life balance is essential. Besides working, humans have other things that are not less important such as family commitments and hobbies, and not nurturing these can make life meaningless. For example, I am diligent and friendly with my colleagues when I am working, but in the evenings and weekends, I use my valuable time to take care of my children and practice English. In addition, relaxing and recharging batteries are important factors both physically and mentally. If they meet with individuals whom they already meet at working premises during their off-duty time, they are prone to haunting responsibilities and duties which sometimes are stressful and traumatic. In conclusion, I would argue that it is enough to meet coworkers in the scope of the company, and the remaining hours should be used for other purposes in life.