Television is good for you. Discuss advantage and disadvantages of watching television?

Modern society has accepted TV sets as part and parcel of their daily life. While media is beneficial in terms of delivering to viewers with most up-to-date story, it has a few drawbacks especially when it starts affecting one's relationship with friends and family. This essay will address the issues and benefits of watching television. First of all, watching television have a few advantages, especially in terms of obtaining local and global news. This is because the data will travel faster through the channel. It reduces the need to search for specific reports online. For example, during the 9-11 incident, CNN broadcasted the news through television. As a result, people from all over the world can watch and be updated with real-life events that were happening surrounding the incident. This is mainly the reason why people choose to watch television. Despite the benefit of watching television, it is undeniably true that it has a few drawbacks. One of the disadvantages of watching television is that it can be addictive. This is because for some folk once they started to watch television they tend to forget their house chores and other important things. For example, some people, who found the series that captivate them on Netflix will start binge-watching. They tend to forget to do their work and start missing out on gathering with friends and family. To sum up, while television provides more advantages in a person's daily life, especially in being informed with the latest news, it has the tendency to create a gap in one's social relationship with community and family.