In many countries, paying for things using mobile apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Nowadays, online payment has replaced traditional payment methods in many places. In this essay, I will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of such a development, and explain why I think its positive impacts outweigh the negative ones. On one side, the opponents argue that paying through mobile apps leads to leakage of personal information. Individuals have to fill in their personal details, such as name, ID card number or credit card number to register an online payment account. This may create loopholes for people who wanted to get others' information for commiting crimes. For instance, if someone hacked into an online payment account and steal one's credit card number, they may make purchases with that card. Or hackers can commit crimes using the identity of others, so that their real identities will not be revealed and charged. Hence, some think that online payment app is unsafe as it may leak their information. Despite the possible drawbacks, others believe that mobile payment brings more positive impacts. One key advantage is the convenience it brings. With mobile apps, people simply have to bring their phones out, and they no longer need cash, which is more convenient for most people, particularly those who do not like to carry their bags and purses. In addition, using mobile apps can reduce thefts. As aforementioned, the necessity of bringing out cash is lessened, hence thefts cannot steal someone's bag for money. To conclude, although mobile app might leak personal details, it is believed that its convenience and safety outweigh the possible disadvantages.