Asror Aka: Topic: Many doctors are concerned about the high use of computer games by children and young people. Task: what are the advantages and disadvantages of children playing computer games?

Computer games have gained popularity in recent years, causing some public controversy. Although playing computer games can have many disadvantages according to many doctors, there is plenty of evidence suggesting that it can offer broad-based benefits to children. There is a number of negative effects of children playing computer games. First, since computer games are addictive to youngsters who lack the mental capacity to modulate their time, they can lead to poor academic performance. In fact, research reveals that students aren't able to focus and concentrate on teachers lecturing when they are addicted to games. Second, excessive screen time will lead to physical inactivity, which has a variety of negative impacts on overall physical and mental well-being. For example, as children don't engage in regular exercise, such as cycling or running, they are susceptible to noncommunicable diseases, including cardiovascular diseases and various cancers. Nevertheless, computer games can allow the young to develop in a number of ways. While there are games which are merely about entertainment, there are others that can improve players' rational thinking abilities. For instance, playing chess online has been proven one of the most effective ways to develop strategic thinking skills. In addition, young people are able to make new friends, even international ones, thanks to online games. In fact, online video games like PUBG not only enable young players to learn how to teamwork but also propel and motivate them to learn other languages in order to communicate effectively. In conclusion, the advantages can outweigh the disadvantages as long as teenagers play computer games in a reasonable amount of time. In my opinion, they should be encouraged to do it if they use games as tools to develop their skills.