Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.

It is prevalent that universities provide lessons on additional modules for a particular academic qualification along with major subjects. Though some students advocate this practice, some other learners are against it. In my opinion, this exercise will be feasible if the minor subjects can be chosen through careful scrutiny. On the one hand, some scholars think they will be able to acquire added knowledge outside their major focus by learning other subjects in the class. If they do not do it, they will become blind to some other important issues. For example, if students from the Computer Science department study only programming languages, they will have a good grip on software development but they will miss the knowledge in other areas which will be leading to major problems in their careers. In other words, a degree can not run smoothly alone while the integration of versatility of knowledge makes life prosperous. On the other hand, some students think they should earn knowledge on the subjects related to their qualifications as people from other disciplines may be added if required for a certain job. For instance, for producing a machine learning prediction model the coders should not learn about geography, and weather science, while other members having knowledge in these areas may contribute. They also believe it is a waste of time when they can pay more concentration on the main subjects. In conclusion, this is an era of globalization, and knowledge in only one field can not make a pupil fit to face the challenges in real-life situations, though the knowledge combination of major and minor subjects will solve the problem for sure.