Scientists tell us that some activities are good for health and others are bad. Despite knowing that, millions of people still continue doing unhealthy activities. What are the causes and what are the solutions for this?

Nowadays, people are informed about the effect of healthy and unhealthy lifestyles. Despite scientists pointing out the activities which can benefit health, a vast amount of people still sustain doing activities that are unhealthy. Generally, there are a multitude of causes for this kind of occasion. Firstly, this may be due to bad habits. If people continue doing harmful activities for a long time, it is hard for them to get rid of the bad customs. Many researches show that for people who keep smoking or drinking for more than 3 months, it will be extremely difficult to abstain from tobacco and drink, and therefore, even if they realize how bad it is for their bodies, they still can not give up doing these things. Moreover, some individuals can not avoid doing some unhealthy activities due to their job category. This can be exemplified by individuals like doctors and white-collar workers. Most of them have to stay up late in order to finish their work, especially doctors, they need to continue working until there are no more patients come. On the other hand, these factors can be solved by following solutions. First, the government must increase citizens’ awareness of the importance of keeping a healthy body. This can be done through giving public speaking or giving out leaflets. As long as people understand the cherish of staying healthy, they will do their best to maintain it. Additionally, the government should increase the tax on producing demerit goods, the price of demerit goods will increase as the tax on making it becomes higher, therefore, it will be more expensive for people to purchase them, so fewer demerit goods will be bought. In conclusion, I believe that in the future, more people will choose to live in a healthy way and as technology and medical treatments developed, human life expectancy will be much longer.