Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It has been argued that the most urgent environmental issue is the extinction of some species, while others believe that there are other crucial factors. Personally, I believe that the latter one is more reasonable, and my reasons will be given in the following essay. It is undeniable that the loss of certain species is a huge problem. To begin with, for isolated areas, the extinction of certain kinds of plants or animals will cause an environmental disaster. That's because, the isolation usually equals to the limited chance of migration, leading to a lack of species diversity, thus, the food chain is very simple and fragile. As a result, the disappearance of some species usually lead to the breakdown of the whole food chain, and triggers a large-scale extinction. Besides, social problems will occur due to the extinction of specific kinds of animals and plants. In order to have as high yield as possible, only a few subspecies of certain cash crops are being planted, one of the most famous examples including bananas, which only have one subspecies being planted worldwide. As a result, the supply chain is fragile, and the extinction of them will cause a significant drop in the total food production, resulting in starvation and the cascade effect will eventually lead to conflicts and warfare. However, there are other environmental problems that are more pressing. First of all, the ocean pollution is a global crisis due to the long-term impact. Considering that most of the pollutants in the modern era are difficult to break down in natural conditions, such as benzene-based pesticides. Then once the ocean is polluted, those chemicals will not only be able to spread via the ocean current but also accumulate through the food chain, and poisoning creatures. After that, the dead animals and plants will decompose and become food for the bacteria so the pollutants will cycle repetitively, leading to long-term hazards. Moreover, other problems such as global warming is also very serious, as it can lead to a sharp drop in population. Since the human activities emit carbon dioxides in the air, the Earth becomes hotter and hotter, resulting in less yield in C3 crops and a vast distinction of ocean animals, then with an insufficient amount of food produced, starvation and conflicts will kill people, leading to population drop. To conclude, despite there are some problems that come with species loss, other problems are more pressing.