These day, in many countries fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this and what are the solutions?

Generally speaking, teachers often play an essential part in the development of a country. Unfortunately, a declining interest in becoming an educator can be observed in many countries, especially in secondary education. This essay will explore the reasons behind this phenomenon and, hopefully, offer a solution to the problem. To begin with, many teachers in public schools reported a tremendous amount of overtime. Beside teaching in classes, never-ending planning and paperwork needed to be done after school hours, sometimes during holidays. For example, some teachers were asked to start two hours early to prepare the class and leave two to three hours later to finish reports and communicate with parents. In this case, the education department should minimise paperwork and develop a more efficient planning system. It will be significantly helpful to reduce unnecessary work hours for teachers. Additionally, the job of being a teacher can be stressful. In most cases, one teacher is responsible for more than 20 students. Particularly in secondary schools, it can be difficult to manage 20 teenagers, who are experiencing puberty and facing challenges. For instance, high school educators often report they are overwhelmed by students’ increasing behavioural issues and verbal abuse. In my opinion, the school management should reduce class size or provide extra support like assigning teacher aides to bigger classes. Teachers will have better control, therefore, better quality time with their students. Over and above that, another common complaint from the current teachers is the unmatched salary. As mentioned above, the career of being a teacher can be demanding. However, the wages do not align with the workload, especially for secondary educators who invest extra time to study. In this circumstance, the education department or schools should improve teacher ’s salaries and other benefits, not merely to show appreciation to in-job teachers, but more importantly, to attract more students to pursue the career in education. All things considered, it is critical for the authority and school management to review and improve the current workload and compensation to the teachers. Or else, their countries will eventually face a shortage of teachers and risk the quality of their education system.