More and more plastic waste is polluting the world’s city, countryside and ocean. What problems will it cause? What measures should be taken to solve these problems?

The incremental plastic waste provokes various pollutions to the environment nowadays, including land and ocean, which causes various hazards, such as chronic diseases in humans, along with it, endangers the habitats of other species. I believe there are some countermeasures for governments and individuals to address such problems, including finding alternative materials and stopping using disposable containers. First of all, there are many drawbacks derived from the pollution caused by a great number of plastic waste, including the toxic gas released into the air while burning substances as such, and lead to respiratory diseases in local residents. On top of that, the plastic products dumped into the ocean could cause the death of turtles and fish for mistaking it as food. For instance, many dead fishes are found in their stomach full of plastic bags. There are some methods to solve such problems, since both individuals and authorities have obligations to tackle the problems, first of all, it is essential for governments and commercial institutions to find sustainable materials that could replace plastic products. For example, a company in the Netherlands make use of recycled glass bottles to make clothes and handbags which be made with plastic components. Moreover, individuals could put an effort into it by reducing the consumption of over-packaged products and conducting shopping with their own bags. To summarise, high demand for plastic products could lead to serious hazards to the world, causing pollution in the air and the ocean. In my perspective, there are some countermeasures to stop the deterioration of such trends, including finding new substances to replace plastic products, and consumers should stop buying products packed in many layers to reduce unnecessary waste.