New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? It is a well-documented fact that an increasing number of the public are drawing attention to the effect of modern technology on how the younger generation spend their leisure time. While there are some people who strongly believe that the aforementioned phenomenon is detrimental to children, others claim that it might be beneficial. In my perspective, I wholeheartedly agree with the former argument. On the one hand, the potential that technologies hold is an obvious evidence for other people to defend them. It is acknowledged that innovative devices such as phones and computers provide access to an endless storage of knowledge through the internet. Therefore, children now can satisfy their curiosity with just a few clicks on the keyboard, unlike the past when they had to invest hours in the library for an answer for their question. Another worth noting point is that technologies connect people from around the world regardless of distances, thereby proving themselves to be tremendously convenient and a wonderful education tool. For instance, juveniles can contact their parents overseas or learn another language with native speakers while also befriending them. On the other hand, there are two primary points for other people to defend their view that handling technology incorrectly will be dangerous for the health and development of minors. To begin with, it is an undeniable fact that a number of metal and physical health issues are caused by overusing technical advancements. To illustrate, news outlets have been reporting violence from children who were separated from their video games and electronic devices. Furthermore, it is inevitable that only devoting time on technologies instead of other activities will hinder them in developing some necessary life skills which will affect their performance in mundane tasks. An example would be children who are solely dependent on calculators find it hard to perform even elementary level math problems without it. In conclusion, although technologies might be useful educationally, we must admit that these long exposure to these devices are also to blame for stagnant development and a notable number of health problems.