Some people believe that that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently Tsinghua University has decided to collaborate with the Japanese government on the program of space station exploration, which allows many people to support that sharing as much information as possible in different aspects is beneficial to the development of human beings. However, some people disagree that sharing paramount and invaluable information is good for us. As far as I am concerned, we cannot arbitrarily share as much information as possible no matter how important or valuable it is. First of all, some people think that sharing plenty of information in science, technology and business can help to develop many underdeveloped countries. Certainly, China has given a hand to many developing countries in recent years. Not only did China help them defend against wars, but China also volunteered to construct thousands of railways and infrastructures by dispatching experts and engineers. We have to admit that sharing information to some limits can advance the development of the world. By contrast, others believe that we cannot share any information that we want even if the information is pretty significant and valuable. Why do we have to research and develop some core technologies by ourselves, not with the help of other countries? Because other countries don’t hope to see that we manage to learn these technologies by heart since this behaviour decreases the profit they can gain. From my perspective, I definitely agree with this thought. The products manufactured by Germany and Japan are famous for their quality around the world. We racked our brains to learn the technologies from them in the past but the core knowledge was not obtained. Therefore, there is not everything we can share. In conclusion, we can share as much information as possible to help develop those poor countries but the premise is that the important and valuable information related to our profit cannot be shared freely.