Many think that religion should be taught in schools, while others think it should be avoided. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Some people claim that such discipline as religion ought to be taught in educational institutions. Others believe that this subject ought to be excluded from any school`s program. In my opinion, religion should be studied at schools since this course can broaden students` horizons and open their latent talents in this sphere. On the one hand, religion should be a mandatory subject at primary and secondary schools as it prompts any child to immerse in the cultural heritage of his motherland and makes him conceive how to perform well in various societies. Firstly, such disciplines as religion portray a toddler the way how his nation subsisted centuries ago, daily lives of his descendants and the way how their demeanor was swayed by religious norms and traditions. Consequently, a person is able to become more mature and judicious since he perceives the history of his state and the way how variable religious norms and traditions were enhanced. Secondly, such lessons can teach an adolescent how to behave in dissimilar parts of the world. In other words, children studying religion will not violate religious laws and rules in some countries, which will not cause any misunderstanding between them and locals. Furthermore, the profound knowledge of some religious norms and traditions enables an individual to immigrate to highly religious countries. The prime example could be German pupils, who study religion from the first grade, due to the fact that local authorities of this state realize that this apprenticeship will inhibit them from religious conflicts in the future. On the other hand, studying religion at schools can be so time-consuming activity that children will not possess enough time for other subjects. It is apparent that one ought to read an overwhelming amount of articles, thesis papers and books to gain vital knowledge in this domain. Therefore, students can be so immersed in this discipline that they will portray daunting academic results in other courses. In addition, teachers, who are professionals in this domain, are quite rare workers. Subsequently, not every school in a region can afford hiring this teacher and paying him a decent sum of money, which will create a disparity among schools in one country. For instance, the vast bulk of Russian schools halted lessons in religion as it was unfeasible to find specialists in Buddhism for this class. Personally, I maintain a stance that religion classes can motivate a student to study hard and reveal his hidden endowment in this sphere. This will urge an individual to devote his time to religion and become a qualified philosopher or priest in the future. To conclude, I insist that such a subject as religion can exert a positive, as well as, negative influence on person`s studies. However, such a discipline can help a pupil to determine his professional interests and desires.