in some educational systems, children are requierd to study one or more foreign languages. in others, foreign language study is not a requirement. what are the potential of foreign language study? do you think the foreign language study is an important part of eduation?

Nowadays, people are trying their best to be at least bilingual. This is because they find it vital not just for personal benefits but also professionally. Some schools incorporate foreign language studies as part of their curriculum while others don't find it useful. In my opinion, studying a foreign language is an integral part of schooling. To begin with, being multi-lingual has a myriad of benefits. Firstly, this could provide more opportunities when applying a job. Being proficient in two or more languages, a person could communicate not just with local clients but also internationally. For instance, in the Philippines, they have their own language which is called Tagalog and yet they are still required to study English and use it as a medium of instruction in school and even at work. Thus, call centre companies from the US are being outsourced to the Philippines as they could speak English fluently and without an accent. Secondly, it could help people travel with ease. Knowing the language of the country you are going to will help you communicate with the locals and prevent you from being scammed. In Spain, for example, you need to know Spanish in order for you to be able to go to certain places as well as help you not to be a victim of perpetrators. Lastly, it could prevent miscommunication. To illustrate, there are some words from a certain country that have different meanings to others. Without the knowledge of other nations' languages, surely misunderstanding would be inevitable that could sometimes lead to grave consequences,especially in politics. To recapitulate, inculcating foreign languages in school will provide more and more benefits to everyone not just in personal life but also in their workplaces. Language is a way for everyone to communicate and prevent misunderstanding hence could lead to negative effects.