Some companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn at all times. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Some workplaces such as companies require their workers to wear uniforms at all times. This rule aids in creating a professional work environment and it is more convenient for employees. However, it costs a lot of money and colors of clothes are not always suitable for everyone. On the one hand, uniforms help in creating a professional workplace. If employees are wearing the same clothes, it shows that they have respect to the place and people. In addition, uniforms provide convenience to employees. In other words, it is easier to have a set of clothes to wear everyday to work, because time will not be wasted on finding a comfortable and appropriate outfit. It does not require thinking but instead simply just opening the closet and wearing the unifrom. For instance, the CEO of Snapchat has the same clothes he wears to work everyday and this made him look respectful at work and it is much more comfortable for him. On the other hand, cost of uniforms is high, especially to low-income workers. Most people buy more than one uniform as extras for emergencies, also people buy new uniforms every few months because clothes tend to worsen in shape and color after constant wear. For these reasons, people buy more clothes and thus require more money. In addition, colors of uniforms are not suitable for everyone. As an example, color theory suggests that clothes with lighter hues are more suitable to light-skinned people while dark colors are better for darker-skinned individuals. In conclusion, although it is more professional and convenient for workers to wear uniforms in the workplace, it costs money to purchase and colors of uniforms are not suitable for everyone.