There has been major advances in technology over the recent decades and this has led to significant improvements in people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past few decades, the world has experienced an unprecedented surge in technological advancements, enhancing various aspects of an individual's life. This essay will discuss to what extent these advancements have impacted a person's life, evaluating the level I agree or disagree with this statement. The spread of the internet is a positive development because everyone has easy access to an abundance of information. A good example of this is all students that are preparing a write-up on a scientific question during their educational years. The internet is a brilliant tool giving access to a wide variety of resources such as articles, scientific papers and a number of reviews. By having all of this available to them, they are able to provide a scientific paper of better quality and in return get a better mark for their respective work. This will in turn provide them with better opportunities later in life by going to a top-five university. However, there are also drawbacks because of the easy access to dangerous sites. For instance, if a child's parental guardian is inexperienced with blocking certain websites, it may lead to some unwanted exposure. For example, a child may be exposed to pornography at an earlier age than 18 years of age. This in turn could lead to the child being more sexually curious and wanting to explore such feelings before a more suitable age when they have more knowledge on the matter. It may lead to unwanted pregnancies as they don't know that sex without protection can get a female pregnant. Therefore, such instances make the internet a dangerous tool. In conclusion, while there are major positives in these technological advancements there needs to be some protective measures put in place to protect our youth. I would hope that every search engine has a child-sensitive option available to everyone.