universities should accept equal numbers of male and female student in every subject to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the term equality, equity and gender discrimination are the most concerning issue. As per the survey, while people exchange their views some of them believe that there should be an equal number of males and females in every course and on the other hand, others are against this idea. However, I completely disagree, there are certain subjects that are designed for male candidates such as engineering. Firstly, having the same number of male and female students on all the degree courses is simply unrealistic as pupil numbers depend on the application that an institution receives. If an institution decides to give equal numbers of seats then the merit system will be drastically affected. There are certain courses that are more popular for a particular sex. For example, nursing tends to attract female applicants, as compared to males. Nevertheless, apart from the practical concerns discussed above, it would be unfair to get admission in university courses on the basis of gender. An academic institute should only select the best candidate on the basis of qualification. Consequently, both men and women have the same opportunities, and the applicants know that they will be successful only if they work hard to achieve good grades. Although, if a female is the best candidate for a place on a course, it is surely wrong to reject her in favour of a male having a lower grade. Thus, the quota system should not be enforced because talented students would be deprived. In conclusion, the selection of university students should be based truly on merit, and it would be both impractical and unfair to change the selection procedure.