In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, there has been an uptick in cases of physical illness due to high consumption of junk food, mainly obesity, high blood pressure, and diabetes. This worrying trend can no longer be seen as a personal problem. In this regard, I strongly agree that policymakers should impose a higher tax on unhealthy foods like this in an effort to establish a long-term solution. From the perspective of consumers, the demand for these unhealthy items will most likely decrease significantly due to the increased price of the products. People will be more tempted to find cheaper alternatives, which is expected to reflect a communal behavior where consuming healthier food becomes a new habit that eventually leads to a decrease in the number of people who suffer from non-communicable diseases. On the other hand, this policy will most likely change the business strategies of companies as well. They will be forced not only to prioritize profit but also to consider its impact on society in general. If the demand for fast food is low, producers will have no other options except to adjust their menus and offer food with less sugar, oil, and calories. Boosted with excellent marketing tricks, these new strategies will retain existing customers while also avoiding paying higher taxes. This case can be seen in the fast food chains that offer salad and less sugary beverages as modifications to their products. To sum up, I believe that imposing higher taxes on fast food will generate significant benefits for both parties.