Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. While others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packing. Discuss both views and give your opinions. Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Some would argue that it is the duty of manufacturers and supermarkets to avoid over-package, while others say that such merchandise with excessive packing should be refused by consumers. While customers’ purchasing requirements may influence makers’ attitudes towards packages, I believe prohibition such decoration of goods from the manufacturing and selling phase would be a better option. On the one hand, if customers are able to show a strong willingness to resist those over-packing commodities, manufacturers may have a reconsideration regarding their sales strategies. In fact, how to obtain better profit is always the imperative thing that industries care about. Therefore, as long as the consumption of over-packing goods shows a significant decline due to buyers’ rejection, industries will shift their sales strategies soon. For example, many supermarkets would distribute questionnaires to their customers in order to understand their like and dislike towards their goods, which means the suggestion from consumers influence their mode of service. However, it is difficult to control the willingness of consumers because such rejection totally depends on people’s ethical standards. On the other hand, it is thought that if industries stop producing such packages, corresponding waste and pollution can be avoided from the beginning. It should be known that the process of producing these outer shells would put create gas emissions and after they complete their mission as decoration, the process of incineration and degradation of materials also pollute the air. This is illustrated by the fact that in 2022, the European Union officially banned the use of plastic packaging in many supermarkets due to their harm to the environment. I believe that compared with the rejection of buying these items, prohibiting markets from producing and selling these packages is a better solution. In conclusion, although encouraging customers to reject purchasing over-packaged goods may change makers’ attitudes towards packaging and eventually decrease their numbers, I believe that makers and sellers should take more responsibility to reduce related products due to less pollution.