Public libraries will soon no longer be housed in building as all facilites and books are available for all to access. What are the advantages and disadvantages of public libraries existing onlin?

Today, all modern cities have numerous libraries which act as a source of knowledge. However, in the near future,all public libraries will be shifted online. The merits and demerits of this progressive move are discussed below. The biggest advantage of having books over the Internet will be the ease of access. Digital books will be available to scholars at any point in time. There will be no opening hours or closing hours like a physical library. For instance, a student can study online even at two o clock in the morning without bothering about the closing time.Another advantage of this digitalisation is that there will be no wear and tear on the reading material. Libraries generally contain very old records and sometimes also have antique editions. With the help of technology, the authorities can make these antiques available to readers without worrying about any harm being caused to such precious information. For example, a librarian can lend the first edition of any novel to a reader without being nervous as the student will only receive the soft copy of the novel. This move also has some disadvantages.Studying together is usually very beneficial for learners as they get to interact with one another and have healthy discussions. Studying on the internet will make the learning experience more personalised and learners will not be able to interact with one another. To illustrate, graduates will study material online on their respective computers without having to meet their peers. It will make the entire experience less social. The second disadvantage is that the world wide web is not always reliable. There is always the risk of computer hacking.It is very easy for these criminals to cause harm to society by wiping out the entire collection of books. To give an example, the entire database of knowledge can be lost if the main computer is hacked on the dark web. To conclude,the pros and cons of such a step should be weighed carefully before coming to any decision. Even though I am aware of the disadvantages, I still believe that online reading will do more good than harm. It will definitely be a step forward.