The restoration of old buildings in major cities in the world costs enormous government expenditure. This money should be used in new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, with modern city development, the argument of whether the government’s budget should be used for renovating old buildings or investing in new construction such as housing and road has been debated. As far as I am concerned, I support the money should be used in building modern structures. Firstly, the ancient structure could bring in numerous international tourists; however, even though the renovation of old buildings is continuing, the government doesn’t have enough money to revamp all the existing outdated architecture at the same time, thus leading to inconvenience and safety concerns. For example, almost all the major cities worldwide, such as Tokyo, New York, London, and so on, have traffic congestion problems, severely wasting their citizen’s time. Furthermore, some old edifices cannot even be lived by people because it is unsafe when an earthquake or typhoon happens. On the other hand, investing money in brand-new living buildings and traffic construction will significantly benefit the metropolis. For instance, after MRT(Mass Rapid Transit) stations were expanded in my city- Taipei- million people took MRT to their workplaces or schools every day, alleviating the traffic jams a lot. Moreover, people in major cities still spend a lot of money on refurbishing their houses every year. Also, according to the country’s law, each home has a lifespan of 80~90 years, which means individuals cannot live safely after the lifespan and should change their houses. Therefore, it is more sensible for the government to spend its budget on new construction rather than renovating old architecture. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, the government shouldn’t splurge its money on old houses whose service life cannot be extended too long.