Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Children are the future of our society and because of that many believe that they should be raised in competitive surroundings in order to be better citizens. While others are of the opinion that they should be taught to be a good team member rather than competing with each other. Both views as well as my stance on this matter are discussed in the further paragraphs. The children's rivalry behaviour could have several benefits in society. The predominant cause is it can foster developments and advancements in many aspects of our society. Not only this will help them exceed their boundaries but also provide them with their Ikigai. For example, students competing in a science fair will always try to learn, adapt and apply new things to make their project stand out. Besides that, they will also get a sense of urgency to learn and explore more of the real world. Perhaps, teaching cooperative behaviour has many positive outcomes. The primary reason is it will serve as a helping hand to others in an indeed need. As in our daily life, nobody is perfect and due to that, we rely on others to fulfil our needs. On top of that, this type of nature helps youth to learn the importance of teamwork. Imagine a student who participated in a singing competition with an exceptional singing skill, but does not know how to write a song. Then student who has better songwriting skills could help the participant write a good song. To conclude and provide my opinion on the matter of raising young people with either a competitive or cooperative nature, in my perspective their upbringing should be done both in ways but they should also be taught about the clear boundaries of both.